Archiving and deleting
In Robaws you have the option to delete or archive documents. You can use this to stop showing documents that were created by mistake, for example, or to limit the number of documents in the overview screen.
"Archiving" and "deleting" are both ways of keeping data, but they differ in their approach and purpose:
- Archiving: the item disappears from the overview screens. The item does remain linked to other documents and is included in analyses.
- Deleting: the item disappears from the overview screens. The item is no longer included in analyses.
With both functions the documents are not deleted permanently. There is always a way to call the document up again. You do this by using the advanced filters in the overview screen.
If you want, you can put the deleted or archived document back in the active overviews.
Use
How do I archive an item?
To archive one or more items, you select the documents in the overview. You click the archive action button in the bar at the top to archive the selected documents.
The documents disappear from the overview into an invisible part where all archived documents are kept.
How do I delete an item?
To delete one or more items, you select the documents in the overview. You click the delete action button in the bar at the top to delete the selected documents.
The documents disappear from the overview into an invisible part where all deleted documents are kept.
How do I find an item that has been archived or deleted?
You can call up an item that has been archived or deleted via the advanced filters in the overview of a module. There you can tick whether you want the archived and/or deleted items shown in the overview.

Archived and deleted items are shown in the overview together with the active items.
If you want a separate overview of all archived and deleted items, you can add a separate overview (tab) for this.
In that extra overview you can set one or both filters via the advanced filters :


Putting archived and/or deleted items back
You can always put an archived or deleted item back in the active list. You do this by clicking the item open and then clicking 'undo' in the bar at the top. Once this is done, the item moves to the active list of the module concerned.

Limitations
You cannot archive or delete everything in Robaws and then put it back. So handle this with care.
What can you archive, delete and undo?
- a complete quotation, invoice, supply order, work order, order, price request, incoming invoice, etc.
- user roles
- items, posts
- lists in the settings, e.g. unit types, VAT tariffs, payment conditions, etc.
What can you not undo after deleting?
- deleting lines from a quotation, an invoice, a supply order, an order, a post, etc.
- deleting an item group
- deleting a user
- deleting formulas and parameters from posts
- etc.
Updated on: 04/09/2026
Thank you!
